Trinity Spirit

← ​Trinity Shines at Griffith University State Honors Ensemble Program

Queensland Conservatorium, Griffith University’s South Bank campus, was overflowing with teenagers when 900 of Queensland’s finest young secondary school musicians attended the fifteenth annual prestigious State Honours Ensemble Program (SHEP) Qld 2016 during the last week of the school holidays.

Selected from 2000 students; nominated by 169 state, private and distance education schools; participants traveled from Mount Isa, Cairns and the New South Wales border to represent their schools and work alongside renowned international and national conductors.

SHEP QLD featured four Wind Orchestras, two String Orchestras, a Celtic String Ensemble, four Vocal Ensembles, Symphony Orchestra and Big Band; showcasing the best that Queensland has to offer.

The students were tutored under some of Australia’s and the world’s leading conductors: Wind Orchestras were led by: Mr Peter Handsworth (Aus), Dr Cynthia Johnston Turner (USA), Professor Rob McWilliams (Aus) and Mr Richard Saucedo (USA); String Ensembles by: Ms Rita Fin (Aus), Dr Mark Laycock (USA), Ms Emma Nixon (Aus); Vocal Ensembles by Mr Michael Bawtree (UK), Mr Gordon Hamilton (Aus), Mr Paul Holley (Aus) and Mr Robert Hollingworth (UK). The Big Band and Symphony Orchestra were led by Queensland Conservatorium’s Mr John Hoffman and Associate Professor Nicholas Cleobury respectively.

In a reciprocal program between Seattle and Brisbane, twelve American college students (seven from Washington, five from Oregon) were selected to represent the prestigious Pacific Honours Ensemble Program (PHEP) during SHEP at South Bank. Sixteen Queensland students from across the State (from Brisbane, Ipswich, Proserpine, Rockhampton, Toowoomba, and the Tweed River) will travel to Seattle during November to attend the Western International Band Clinic as part of the PHEP reciprocal exchange program.

Five grand finale concerts showcased the talents of these astonishing young musicians on Sunday 2 October in the Conservatorium Theatre.

We congratulate the following Trinity students who were selected to represent the state at this prestigious event and all will receive full colours at the end of the year for their contribution:

  • Chelsea Burton (Year 9)
  • Tiarne Coutinho (Year 11)
  • Josephine Cross (Year 10)
  • Cassandra Duncan (Year 11)
  • Elliena Escott (Year 8)
  • Kelly Gallagher (Year 11)
  • Jake Goodall (Year 10)
  • Tegan Grice (Year 12)
  • Harmony Heathcote (Year 10)
  • Sophie Kleinschmidt (Year 12)
  • Nathan Leydon (Year 12)
  • Nicholas Lockhart (Year 11)
  • Kiara McGowan (Year 12)
  • Samuel McGowan (Year 7)
  • Jasmine Mills (Year 9)
  • Madison Newbery (Year 12)
  • Fraser Reye (Year 10)
  • Tahlia Traecey (Year 12)
  • Gemma Wise (Year 12)
  • Henry Wu (Year 12)

Mr Simon Petty
Head of Year 12, Teacher (Arts KLA)


Learn more about life at Trinity.