Trinity Spirit

← Coffee & Chat with Mr Justin Kennedy, Year 4 Teacher

  • What do you do in your role? I am the Year 4 Class teacher of 4K. I also coach sports teams.
  • What are your areas of specialisation? Sport is a strong area of mine, I have coached basketball, touch, soccer and golf for many years. I also used to teach LOTE (Indonesian) and English as a Second Language (ESL).
  • What was your first job? I once worked delivering pamphlets (junk mail) on my bike but I didn’t like it very much so it didn’t last long. My first real job before I was a teacher was working in a Games shop, which was fun as I got to play with all the games so I knew what to tell customers about them.
  • How long have you worked? I began working as a teacher in 1997, in a Year 3 class in Canberra.
  • What’s the most rewarding part of your job? I love the “Oooh, I get it now!!” moments from students the best. I also love it when ex-students come and say hello and talk about the things they loved best from when they were in my class.
  • What are some of your notable previous employers and roles? I worked in Canberra for a few years, and then moved to Brunei Darussalam at Jerudong International School. I was there for 10 years and my children were born there, so it holds very special memories for me. I also taught in the Australian International School Malaysia, in Kuala Lumpur.
  • What is your educational background? I studied at Charles Sturt University in Bathurst and achieved a Bachelor of Teaching, a Bachelor of Education and a Graduate Certificate of Education.
  • What are your interests/hobbies outside of work? I enjoy playing and watching sport, particularly AFL. I used to play AFL for Brunei and Malaysia, as well as playing cricket for Brunei, so I am a three times national representative.
  • Where were you born? Melbourne
  • What is your favourite colour? Green
  • Who are your favourite Bands? Midnight Oil, INXS, U2, Foo Fighters and Red Hot Chilli Peppers
  • What is your favourite cuisine? Thai and Indian
  • If we’re sitting here a year from now celebrating what a great year it’s been for you in this role, what would you say we achieved at Trinity? That I really helped the students of Year 4 develop and be ready for Year 5 and their last year of school on the Junior Years campus
  • When have you been most satisfied in your life? Coming back home to Australia, and moving into our new home with my family here on the Gold Coast, has been the culmination of 3 years of planning, so it is very satisfying to see it come to fruition.
  • Who is your role model, and why? A friend of mine who teaches at Assissi College in Coomera. He and his wife have raised 5 beautiful children, he is an awesome and dedicated teacher and he is an extremely generous and kind person.
  • What do you like to do in your down time? Go to the beach, spend time with my children and reading.
  • What is your favourite family pastime? It used to be travelling, when we lived in Asia, but now we love going to the beach and riding the big waves and playing in the sand.
  • How did you meet your wife, the love of your life? At university. She was a year ahead of me, but we did not get together then. We shared a house as flatmates for 2 years until I decided that she was right for me (or the other way round).
  • What do you do to keep busy? With 4 children, there is always some cleaning, car washing, pool cleaning or laundry to do.
  • What things do you not like to do? Mopping the floor, eating tomato.
  • Tell me about a project or accomplishment that you consider to be the most significant in your life? There is no question that helping to raise 4 beautiful, healthy and happy children is my biggest ongoing accomplishment. They are all at Trinity and love the school too.
  • Tell us about a time when things didn’t go to plan. We once were catching a flight from Manila to KL and the plane was rescheduled to 2 hours earlier. I didn’t see the email from the airline so we missed the plane. We had to taxi to the nearest town, and find a hotel for the night. The area was a bit dodgy so we felt nervous staying there with small children. We caught a plane the next day so it worked out in the end.
  • What do you think is the next big thing in ICT? A cashless society is a real possibility. We might even see the end of paper and pencils in the classroom, but I hope that won’t be for a long time.
  • Tell us more about yourself; what else can you share with us? I lived overseas for 18 years of my life. As a child I lived in Aleppo, Syria, as my dad was working as an engineer there. We travelled a lot around the Arabic countries which was fascinating. I would love to go back someday but the area is not safe enough at the moment.
image

Learn more about life at Trinity.