Trinity Spirit

← Coffee & Chat with Melanie Calzavara, Community Relations Administration Officer

  • What do you do in your role? I am working with Community Relations to manage the events program. I am particularly excited to be working on various projects for Trinity's 35th Anniversary this year. You will also find me on the front desk at College Reception (on the Ashmore Road campus) where I meet and greet all visitors to the school.
  • What are your areas of specialisation? Event management, marketing and sponsorship
  • What was your first job? While I was at school I worked at the local Bakers Delight
  • How long have you worked? Professionally for 14 years, however, I worked casually all through high school and university.
  • What’s the most rewarding part of your job? Seeing a project you spend so much time on come to life, this is particularly true when planning events.
  • What are some of your notable previous employers and roles? For the past 7 years, I have worked in events and sponsorship for large corporate companies such as Macquarie Bank, Colonial First State and Fairfax Media. Prior to this I spent significant time working in the sports arena working with Tennis Australia, Australian Grand Prix and the PGA Victoria.
  • What is your educational background? I actually started out my career as a teacher and completed my Bachelor of Education (dance) at the Australian College of Physical Education in Sydney, 2002. After a series of injuries, I changed career paths and built up my events and marketing experience by learning on the job.
  • What specialised skills, knowledge and/or talents do you use in your work? To be a great event manager you need to be a multitasker and love it, attention to detail is a must and you need to be proactive while thinking on your feet.
  • What are your interests/hobbies outside of work? I love to travel and experience new cultures and foods, as well as spend time with my family.
  • Where were your born? Melbourne, however I spent much of my time living in Sydney
  • What is your favourite colour? Any fresh summer colour like coral or turquoise.
  • What is your favourite cuisine? Being married to an Italian, I would have to say Italian food. Although it's rare to find authentic Italian food in Australia.
  • How did you meet your husband, the love of your life? I met my husband, Alberto at a dinner party hosted by my flatmates at the time. I always joke that I didn’t need to leave the house to find my husband.
  • What do you do to keep busy? I am mum to an 11 month old who is always getting into mischief.
  • What things do you not like to do? Cleaning
  • Tell us more about yourself; what else can you share with us? My family and I just recently moved to the Gold Coast from Sydney, so we are still finding our feet and learning what to do and where to go on the Gold Coast.

Learn more about life at Trinity.